Make the most of today.

When the ‘phone rings at midnight most of us dread the news that awaits us so when my ‘phone rang at midnight on Friday I feared the worst. I was right, on the other end was my daughter in floods of tears and barely able to speak. A good friend of hers had drowned in Brazil. He was just 18.

Earlier in the day my husband had attended the funeral of a former colleague who had died suddenly at the age of 52.

We’ve lost other friends suddenly and in the prime of their lives which makes me very well aware how fragile life is and how quickly it can be snuffed out. None of us knows what faces us, and few of us probably want to, but the lesson I am trying to learn is that we need to make the most of every moment. Don’t put off for tomorrow what you could do today; tomorrow may never come.

This applies in business as well as our personal lives. It is easy to put things off waiting for the perfect moment, for one more piece of information or for the mood to take us. However if we don’t take the initiative today we may not get another chance.

I don’t want to be morbid and I don’t know if it helps the bereaved to know that their loved one has made the most of their lives and taken all their opportunities but when it is my turn to go I want people to be able to say ‘she made the most of her days’ and, if it’s true that in our final moments our lives flash in front of our eyes, I want there to be lots to see.

An appeal.

Since writing this I have learned that Pippa’s friend and the young man who drowned with him were not insured. It is going to cost  their families a huge amount of money to bring the boys back to the UK, how much harder can it get for a bereaved family? The boys were on a tour of Brazil with their band,  the now appropriately named ‘After Death’, and their record company has launched an appeal to try to help the families. You can either buy their CD or make a donation here. Thank you.

One thought on “Make the most of today.

  1. I just want to say thank you to those people who contributed to the fund to bring Tim and Leon home. Enough money has been raised to bring their bodies back to the UK and Tim’s funeral took place at Ealing Abbey today, February 12th. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

