Who would I want to be?

If you read my last post you will know that I have taken up Natalie Sisson’s 30 Day Blog Challenge. Today is Day 2 and Natalie wants us to answer the question ‘If you woke up tomorrow and were free to do anything you wanted with your life, what would you do and who would you be?’

This is a great question and one I’ve been thinking about for some time and my honest answer is that I’d like to be a wealthier version of me! I count my blessings everyday. I have a lovely family, a comfortable home and a business that makes me want to get up in the morning. I’m very lucky.

My goal

My problem is that I’m not motivated by money so I do far too much for far too little. I know I should place a higher value on my time and not be so generous with it. However a desire to help people is what gets me up in the morning and keeps me working until late in the evening. That’s who I am and that’s not going to change but my husband is not living his dream life and that’s not fair hence my desire to be a wealthier version of me.

I'm looking forward to travelling more with husband David.

I’m looking forward to travelling more with husband David.

I would like to find a way to make enough money for my husband to retire and which will allow us to travel more. That’s why I’m on this challenge. Next year will be our 25th wedding anniversary and I would love to go back to Australia where we spent our honeymoon but this time I want longer than three weeks in which to explore it. That trip would be a great retirement present for my husband so I have a goal.

Action Plan

I have stuck a toe in the water of product development this year and that is an area I plan to develop in the next 12 months. I also want to develop the global nature of my business which I’d love to combine with travelling for pleasure too. I am in the early stages of discussing a joint venture with a former student in India and this could provide a template for other joint ventures.

I know that if I am to achieve my goals I will need to stretch my comfort zone and take a few calculated risks. I’ll have to pay a bit more attention to money and may need to be just a little less generous with people but people and their success will still be my biggest motivator.

30 day challenge

2 thoughts on “Who would I want to be?

    • Thank you Suzi. I think we should be grateful for the good things we have in our lives. The other man’s grass isn’t always greener but we can strive to be ‘better’ versions of ourselves.

Leave a Reply

