30 Day Challenge Progress Check.

If you read my blog regularly you’ll know that I’m currently taking part in The Suitcase Entrepreneur’s 30 day challenge and you may have realised that I’m not blogging about it every day. This doesn’t mean that I’m not doing the exercise every day but sometimes I’m more motivated to take the action than to write the blog. So today on day 8 Natalie has asked us to celebrate our achievements for the first week and I can best do that in a short blog.

What have I gained?

Probably the most useful exercise for me has been the visualising my perfect day as a result I have got greater clarity on how to develop my business going forward. I am close to having a proper plan for my next trading year and have some medium and longer term goals too. This is what I need and the exercise is just as useful to those who don’t want to live out of a suitcase as it is to those who want to spend life on the road.

I also have three key activities that will take me towards my goals. Achieving these in the timescales I have set will demand discipline and focus which are not my strongest attributes but I’ve made a very public commitment to them so the competitor in me will drive me on. I’m not going to apologise for not blogging on the challenge if I have been working hard towards my goals.

Making Progress 

I’ve already made significant progress towards two of the activities I set three days ago. I have now have an outline for the e-book with 21 tips identified and organised into five chapters, I have linked these topics to work I’ve already published and tomorrow I will brief my PA to start work on the design and content.

I’ve also made good progress on the 21 day challenge which I’ll be launching on September 21st to celebrate my business’ 21st birthday. I have written down the what I want to get out of the challenge as well as what the challenge actually is. I’ve mapped out the activities for each of the 21 days and bought the domain name and made a tentative start on the blog. I have a couple of technical issues for the IT department to sort out but I’m ready to start putting each day’s challenge together. I can also start work on the marketing materials which will need to be printed in good time for the launch event on September 21st.

Useful tools

Our challenge on Day 7 was to write about tools that make running our business easier. This is still a work in progress but here are some preliminary thoughts:

  • MailChimp: an easy to use, cloud based programme for sending newsletters and emails. Free at its basic level.
  • Kashflow: I cannot live without this accountancy programme. I can send invoices, track income and expenditure, run reports, file tax returns and it integrates with other useful tools like Mailchimp and Dropbox. (If you want to give it a try you could use my affiliate code to save yourself some money :it’s AFTRAININGPACK
  • Google Calendar: I’ve just started using this so that I can access my diary from all my devices and so far so good.
  • Simpleology: I’m trying this organisation tool on the recommendation of one of Natalie’s case studies on Day 6. So far it seems to be working!
  • MeetingBurner: I’ve used this for webinars in the past and plan to make more use of it in the future.This will allow me to run training from anywhere.
  • Jigsawbox: Another useful tool for packaging and delivering coaching and training programmes that are not location dependent or trading time for money.
  • WordPress: A brilliantly easy tool for building a credible web presence. You must know that as you are here now!

So that’s it for now. My biggest problem is that I’m now pretty pumped up to get things done and am hoping to take some time off very soon so finding time to sleep isn’t easy. Now who can invent the tool that captures the thoughts we have whilst we sleep?

30 day challenge

Leave a Reply

