Using Facebook for Business

It’s Day 3 of Natalie Sisson’s 10 Day Social Media Challenge and our task today is to explain how we use Facebook to build our brands and our businesses.

I’ve said before that Facebook isn’t my favourite platform. I’ve found it harder to get my head round than Twitter and, just when I think I’ve mastered it Facebook introduces a significant change and I’m back to the drawing board. However I have persevered and am beginning to make progress but I know there is still more to do. Natalie’s post today gave me some more tips which I wasn’t aware of such as adding the option for people to subscribe to my profile.

So how do I use Facebook?

I have a personal profile which I use to connect with family, friends, colleagues and other business owners. I post status updates and photographs and comment on other people’s statuses too. My Twitter and WordPress accounts automatically post to my profile.

I have a Business Page which I post to once or twice most days. I include links to my blog which challenges business owners to think about business issues. I try to find inspirational photos and have produced a few graphic Action Tips. However I do tend to lose momentum in the face of limited engagement. My page also includes links to my BookingBug account so that people can book direct for events and one to one meetings.

Here's an example of one of the Action Tips from my Business Page.

Here’s an example of one of the Action Tips from my Business Page.

I have a Facebook group for an Enterprise Club I run so that I can share specific tips and encourage engagement outside of our meetings but that is still a work in progress. At the moment most of the posts are originated by me.

I participate in a number of other groups with a view to building engagement and learning more.

So what’s next?

I got to check out the new Facebook insights today. Wow! What a lot of useful information they provide, this should really help me to work out what to post and when. I am determined to become more consistent in my posts to my business page but am reassured that posting once or twice a day is about right.

I’ll step up my efforts at communicating more with my target market and hopefully offer enough of value to persuade more people to connect with me.

There are more hints and tips in Natalie’s article and the links she shared which I need to spend more time exploring but that might have to wait a couple of weeks as the next 10 days are going to be manic with three events I’m organising and a product launch.

And tomorrow is Day 4 of the 10 Day Challenge…

”Social

Leave a Reply

