Well done me!

I’m sorry if you think my headline sounds a bit arrogant but with this post I am celebrating keeping a New Year’s resolution for a whole year. I think it’s the first time I can make that claim. A year ago I committed to publishing two blog posts a week and this post completes that commitment so I’m going to give myself a pat on the back!

What are you congratulating yourself on for 2013?

This is the time of year when we tend to look forward and think about the brand new year around the corner. What does it hold in store? What do we want to achieve? What hopes do we have for the future? However before we look forward I believe that it is really important to reflect on what has gone before.

I especially think we need to congratulate ourselves on the things that have gone well. I believe most of us are very good at beating ourselves up for what we haven’t achieved, for the things we haven’t done rather than celebrating our successes.

Here's to your successes, past and future.

Here’s to your successes, past and future.

So before you start making resolutions for 2014 take some time to think about your achievements in 2013 and give yourself a pat on the back for those. Think about:

  • what you have done for your customers
  • your marketing activities
  • your family and friends
  • your staff and colleagues
  • your home or workspace
  • your new connections
  • your self confidence
  • what you have learned
  • your experiences
  • last year’s resolutions
  • your voluntary activities

Think how you can build on those achievements next year. Where will they lead you? What should you repeat? What new ideas do they inspire?

Turn a lack of success into a positive

Of course we have to learn from our mistakes and failures too and I suspect you might find some of those as you reflect on the areas above but don’t dwell on them. As Thomas Edison said, “Negative results are just what I want. They’re just as valuable to me as positive results. I can never find the thing that does the job best until I find the ones that don’t.” 

What could succeed with a bit more effort, refocus, or a new approach? Would the results be worth the effort? Could some outside assistance make the difference?

Succeeding with your resolutions

Most New Year’s resolutions don’t survive January, many don’t even make it through the first week so if you want to make resolutions to move you forward in 2014 here are some ideas for keeping them

  • Make resolutions that build on your existing achievements.
  • Don’t make too many.
  • Develop a detailed plan of how you will succeed.
  • Break big goals into smaller, achievable steps.
  • Set regular milestones so you can celebrate your progress.
  • Share your goals with others who can help to keep you on track.
  • If you are competitive find someone with similar goals and challenge each other to a race to success.
  • Keep your resolutions visible. Use your screensaver, put a note on the fridge door, use your reminder software on your phone or computer, make a note in your diary
  • Get a coach or mentor to help keep you on track

If you would like some help developing and implementing New Year’s resolutions to grow your business in 2014 I would be delighted to help. I usually offer a free half hour, no obligation consultation but I am making 5 one hour appointments available in January to get your business off to a great start. Book your slot here.

Leave a Reply

