Have you given up yet?

We’re into the second week of 2014 already and I wonder how well you are doing on the New Year’s resolutions? Are you on track or have they fallen by the wayside already?

I don’t know about you but I always find the first week of the new year quite difficult. The fridge is still full of leftovers to tempt me away from the diet. It seems to take an extraordinary amount of time to take down the decorations and put them away properly and as for my office…. My office is always the dumping ground at Christmas and it takes far too long for me to reclaim the space, not helped by my insisting on doing a major sort out. It’s therefore quite hard to make progress on my goals for the new year. Is this a scenario you recognise?

If so why not make an entry in your diary to set a date for re-visiting your resolutions or goals? A date when you are likely to have the time and space to make some real progress? Make the date for when you have time to plan how you will achieve your goals. Setting the goal is the easy bit but we need to make, and implement, a plan if we are to achieve what we set out to do. If your goal is important to you then it is worth taking the extra time to develop the plan.

If a goal is worthwhile it needs a plan for implementation.

If a goal is worthwhile it needs a plan for implementation.

I am going to spend the 30th January planning my year. By that time the office will be organised, the tax return will have been submitted, my routine will be more normal, the days will be drawing out and I will be ready to make the commitments needed. I’m being realistic. What about you?

I still have a number of free one hour sessions available this month if you want to bounce some ideas for growing your business around. Book here. 

Leave a Reply

