How not to follow up a networking event!

Today’s post has been prompted by a couple of  emails I received this week following up some networking events . The first one referred to meeting me at an event I hadn’t attended! I think I know who sent it but she was using a different surname to the one she was using at the event where I did meet her. The email didn’t mean anything to me so it quickly found its way into the trash folder. The second one was a mass follow up. The email didn’t mention my name or the event at which we had met. The content of the email was a cut and pasted ‘profile’ from some other document. The email described the product and talked about quality workmanship but the email was full of typos, spelling and grammar mistakes so do I believe that they produce quality workmanship? No I do not! If it was meant to sell it failed spectacularly.

People don’t attend networking events to buy! 

People attend networking events to build relationships

People attend networking events to build relationships

I’m just working my way through the results of a survey conducted by a networking organisation, We’ve had over 200 responses and only 33% listed ‘to find suppliers’ in their top three reasons for attending networking events whereas 43% listed the same reason in their bottom three reasons for attending. People who understand networking know that it is a long term project and that the primary goal should be to build relationships. Ultimately those relationships may lead to sales but it could be months or years down the line. A follow up email should always be constructed to develop the relationship not to push the sale. My next post will share some tips on how to follow up to further the relationship. Look out for it in a few days time. Glenda Shawley of The Training Pack helps small businesses to grow by finding ways to sell more to new and existing customers. To find out how we can help you email blog@thetrainingpack.co.uk or book your free 30 minute, no obligation, telephone consultation here.

Leave a Reply

