What makes a good business card?

Today’s post is prompted by a question from a client and it is a good one that many of us don’t devote enough time to thinking about. So here are some questions for the next time you need more business cards.

Why have a business card?

In this digital age you could be forgiven for thinking that business cards are a bit old hat but this would be wrong. Without a business card how will you be remembered after a networking event? Without a business card what will you give to the journalist you meet at a football game? Without a business card how will the potential investor you meet on holiday remember you?

You never know when you are going to meet that person who could make a real difference to your business. That’s why you should always carry a well constructed business card that reflects you and your business.

Designing your business card

Your business card is frequently the second impression, after you, that someone has of your business so it should make a positive impact. Don’t be tempted to cut corners on the quality of card or the design. When you hand that card over to a new contact you want them to think you are a professional from a quality business.

Make sure that your business card conveys the right impression of your brand so be consistent with your brand’s identity. This means using your corporate colours and fonts and your logo if you have one.

Whilst it can be tempting to make your business card stand out by veering away from the traditional size, shape or finish this can be dangerous. Most business people have a file or box that they keep business cards in, if yours doesn’t fit they will throw it away. People also like to write an aide memoire on a business card so that they can remember you and any promise they made so make sure that the finish on your card allows them to do this.

This is a great image that clearly demonstrates what the business is

This is a great image that clearly demonstrates what the business is

vls bc2

And the reverse side makes the important information easy to find whilst leaving a bit of space for me to make my own notes.

What information to include

Think how you want people to contact you or to stay in touch. You will obviously want to include your name, business name, job title, email address and phone number or numbers. You will probably want to include your website and may want to include at least some of your social media addresses such as Twitter, Linked In or Facebook.

I think our business cards also need to convey what we do so if you are a photographer, artist or designer maker include a photograph to showcase your work. Other businesses may need to convey what they do in words. If you use a strapline make sure that it is meaningful.

As a regular networker I pick up hundreds of business cards in a year and I’m not always as disciplined in organising them as I should be. I tend to do a cull every few months and if a business card doesn’t help me to remember the person I met or their business it goes in the bin! So make sure that I will remember you or what you do. Try to leave a bit of space on the card for me to make a note that will help my memory.

This card makes it easy to remember what the business is about.

This card makes it easy to remember what the business is about.

Contact information is easy to find and there's a clear reason why I should be interested in this person's business. However there is little room for me to make my own notes such as where I met her.

Contact information is easy to find and there’s a clear reason why I should be interested in this person’s business. However there is little room for me to make my own notes such as where I met her.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m off to update my business cards, what about you?

Leave a Reply

